friday eye candy

I must have woken up in a nautical mood today as I put on a navy blazer, bright red shirt, and my favorite Coach navy + white boat shoes when I got ready for work.  Fridays make me happy, and anything and everything nautical makes me happy, so I suppose it makes sense.

For today’s interior eye candy I’ve decided to showcase Jonathan Adler’s room designs in the red and blue color scheme.  While Adler’s designs are not exactly sea-inspired, at least the colors are!

 

Jonathan Adler Barbie Malibu Dream House bedroom (Xinhua/Reuters photo)

Adler designed Barbie’s Dream House bedroom in 2009 in glorious shades of red and pink.  I love the red tufted headboard and the way the white duvet cover pops against all that pattern and color.

 

Jonathan Adler, Brian Colby sketch (via instyle.com)

The above Adler sketch is a re-imagination of  Obama’s White House Oval Office.  The red, white, and blue color scheme screams “USA” and the design is completely modern and fresh.  I’d love this for my living room (minus the oval shape).

 

Jonathan Adler red living room (via sofadesigns.blogspot.com)

The above Adler-designed interior is more muted in palette (not typical for him) but still piques interest with the myriad of patterns and the abundance of comfy-looking furniture.  It looks like a great place to hang out and relax with friends for the perfect Friday night (in London perhaps? Lots of Union Jack flag pillows in there…).

Leave a Reply

